Financial advisors
Fee-only financial advisors in North Carolina
275 fee-only investment advisers in North Carolina serve individuals, across 55 cities. 215 offer hourly or flat-fee arrangements and 149 are registered with the SEC; the rest are registered with the state securities regulator. Each listing comes from the firm’s own Form ADV filing, as of November 6, 2026.
Cities with three or more fee-only advisers
- Charlotte 60
- Raleigh 42
- Chapel Hill 20
- Greensboro 16
- Winston Salem 14
- Asheville 11
- Durham 11
- Wilmington 10
- Cary 9
- Apex 5
- Southern Pines 5
- Matthews 5
- Mooresville 5
- Hickory 4
- Rocky Mount 3
- Concord 3
- Sanford 3
- Greenville 3
Fee-only advisers in North Carolina serving the most individuals
- Guardian Wealth Advisors, LLC Raleigh · 2,123 individual clients
- Woodard & Co Asset Management Group Inc Bermuda Run · 1,806 individual clients
- Phoenix Wealth Advisors Inc. Chapel Hill · 1,538 individual clients
- Bragg Financial Advisors Inc Charlotte · 1,537 individual clients
- Salem Investment Counselors Inc Winston Salem · 1,294 individual clients
- Beacon Wealthcare LLC Raleigh · 908 individual clients
- Financial Symmetry Inc. Raleigh · 872 individual clients
- Whitener Capital Management, Inc Rocky Mount · 800 individual clients
- Novare Capital Management Charlotte · 757 individual clients
- Mauney-Pitt Financial Management, Inc. Shelby · 700 individual clients
Looking for an adviser in North Carolina?
Tell us what you need. We will suggest up to three fee-only firms that fit, and with your permission introduce you. Free, no obligation.
Other North Carolina cities
Arden
- Kenneth Frenke & Co $207M
Bermuda Run
Black Mountain
Blowing Rock
Brevard
Burlington
- Abound Investments $3.0M
Carolina Beach
Carthage
Cornelius
- Passport Wealth Management $115M
- Powell Wealth $229M
Davidson
Duck
Eden
Fayetteville
Fuquay Varina
Henderson
Hendersonville
Highlands
Kitty Hawk
Lewisville
Louisburg
Marvin
- Oakley Private Wealth Not reported
Morehead City
Nags Head
New Bern
New Hill
- FWJ Planning LLC Not reported
Oak Ridge
- Parabla, LLC $23M
Pfafftown
Pinehurst
Pittsboro
Research Triangle Park
- Adi Mahajan CPA PC $284K
Salisbury
- C F Parks Inc $98M
Shallotte
Shelby
Statesville
Wake Forest
Weaverville
Wrightsville Beach
How to choose between them
- Decide how you want to pay. Hourly and flat-fee planners suit people who want a plan and will implement it themselves. A percentage-of-assets fee buys ongoing investment management; on $1 million at 1% that is $10,000 a year, every year.
- Check the SEC record. Each listing links to the firm’s page on the SEC’s Investment Adviser Public Disclosure site, where you can read the Form ADV Part 2 brochure (fees, minimums, conflicts) and any disciplinary history.
- Ask who you will actually work with and what credentials they hold. The advisor versus consultant guide explains which titles are regulated and which are marketing.
- Ask about minimums. Form ADV Part 1 does not record account minimums, so they are not shown here. Many asset-based firms require $500,000 or more; hourly planners usually have none.
- Get the fee in writing before you sign, including fund expenses and any platform or custody charges on top.