Financial advisors
Fee-only financial advisors in Maryland
205 fee-only investment advisers in Maryland serve individuals, across 58 cities. 155 offer hourly or flat-fee arrangements and 119 are registered with the SEC; the rest are registered with the state securities regulator. Each listing comes from the firm’s own Form ADV filing, as of November 6, 2026.
Cities with three or more fee-only advisers
- Bethesda 35
- Baltimore 23
- Rockville 15
- Annapolis 14
- Towson 14
- Hunt Valley 10
- Chevy Chase 9
- Timonium 6
- Columbia 6
- Frederick 5
- Gaithersburg 5
- North Bethesda 4
- Silver Spring 3
- Ellicott City 3
Fee-only advisers in Maryland serving the most individuals
- Baltimore-Washington Financial Advisors Columbia · 5,272 individual clients
- Brown Advisory Baltimore · 3,229 individual clients
- Retirement Management Systems Leonardtown · 3,032 individual clients
- Verdence Capital Advisors, LLC Hunt Valley · 1,798 individual clients
- Greenspring Advisors, LLC Towson · 1,697 individual clients
- Potomac Bethesda · 1,257 individual clients
- Chevy Chase Trust Company Bethesda · 1,177 individual clients
- The Kelly Group Bel Air · 1,087 individual clients
- Red Oak Financial Group Towson · 1,051 individual clients
- D.f. Dent and Company, Inc. Baltimore · 1,011 individual clients
Looking for an adviser in Maryland?
Tell us what you need. We will suggest up to three fee-only firms that fit, and with your permission introduce you. Free, no obligation.
Other Maryland cities
Arnold
- Tilghman Wealth Management, LLC Not reported
Ashton
Bel Air
- The Kelly Group $1.1B
- Town Capital $169M
Beltsville
- Izuchi LLC $10K
Bowie
Braddock Heights
Cabin John
- NEXUS338 $408M
Chester
Cockeysville
College Park
Crofton
Derwood
Dunkirk
Easton
Edgewater
Forest Hill
- Honeygo Financial $6.1M
- Picket Fence Financial, LLC $50M
Fort Washington
- Wise Financial Counsel, LLC Not reported
Germantown
Hanover
Highland
- Free State Financial Planning, LLC Not reported
Landover
- People First Financial Advisors Not reported
Lanham
- Ygc Wealth $15M
Laurel
Leonardtown
Linthicum
- Foundation Financial Advisors, Inc. Not reported
Lutherville
Monrovia
National Harbor
North East
Ocean City
Ocean Pines
- CWM Advisory, LLC $101M
Olney
- Capital Financial, LLC $159M
Owings Mills
Phoenix
Potomac
Reisterstown
Rock Hall
Salisbury
St. Michaels
Takoma Park
- Lifetime Financial $45M
- QP Consulting $560M
Walkersville
- Aaa Advisory LLC Not reported
Westminster
Woodbine
Woodstock
How to choose between them
- Decide how you want to pay. Hourly and flat-fee planners suit people who want a plan and will implement it themselves. A percentage-of-assets fee buys ongoing investment management; on $1 million at 1% that is $10,000 a year, every year.
- Check the SEC record. Each listing links to the firm’s page on the SEC’s Investment Adviser Public Disclosure site, where you can read the Form ADV Part 2 brochure (fees, minimums, conflicts) and any disciplinary history.
- Ask who you will actually work with and what credentials they hold. The advisor versus consultant guide explains which titles are regulated and which are marketing.
- Ask about minimums. Form ADV Part 1 does not record account minimums, so they are not shown here. Many asset-based firms require $500,000 or more; hourly planners usually have none.
- Get the fee in writing before you sign, including fund expenses and any platform or custody charges on top.